World Potato Congress 2012
    The President of the World Potato Congress (WPC) Inc. Mr Allan Parker, Canada, and the Chairman of the WPC Awards Committee, Mr Douglas (Doug) Harley, Kinross, Scotland, have announced that nominations are now being called for the 2012 World Potato Congress Industry Awards.

    The World Potato Congress Industry Awards are an important and prestigious event on the International potato scene.

    They recognise lifetime contributions, from individuals, to the potato industry.

    Typically four outstanding individuals are recognized, during the awards presentation ceremony, at the triennial Congress. The next Congress will be held in Edinburgh, Scotland, in May 2012.

    Written nominations are invited for submission. A link to the application form can be found at the end of this article.

    Applications close on November 1, 2011. The Awards Committee will assess all written applications and make appropriate recommendations to the WPC Board of Directors.

    Prominent recipients who have received past awards include J. R. Simplot and Harrison McCain. The recipients of the 2009 Awards, which were presented at the Congress in Christchurch, NZ, are: Ron Gall, New Zealand, Gregg Halverson, USA;Hardev Singh Sangha, India;and Joop N. (Johannes Nicolaas) Stet, the Netherlands.

    Download nomination form

    Source: World Potato Congress