Advanced Search
Swansfleet Alliance named Top Potato Grower for the McCain Manitoba Plants

Swansfleet Alliance was named Top Potato grower for the McCain Foods Manitoba plants.
Back Row, L - R: Jim Waugh, Director NA Manufacturing MidWest, Dean Melnic, Plant Manager, Portage la Prairie; Bob Hyra, Director NA Agriculture MidWest, Dave Giroux, Plant Manager, Carberry.
Front Row, L - R: Vince Jonk, Andrew Devloo, Samantha Devloo, Yvonne Jonk, Linda Jonk, Tim Jonk.

Swansfleet Alliance of Treherne and Bruxelles was named the Top Potato Grower for the McCain Manitoba plants during the annual Growers’ Banquet held in November at the Carberry Community Hall.

Approximately 190 guests gathered to celebrate the Top Growers and their achievements and enjoy a social evening together with a special “Taste of China” theme.

Jim Waugh, Director North America Manufacturing Midwest was on hand to extend personal congratulations to Swansfleet Alliance and all of the McCain Growers.

Jim Waugh, Director North America Manufacturing Midwest:

“A special thanks to all of our potato growers in the Manitoba region for their partnership in our business.”

“Our success depends on winning together and we look forward to a very strong relationship moving forward.”
Master of ceremony for the evening was Bart Witherspoon, Senior MB Field Representative who announced the Top 10 Growers as well as the special guests in attendance.

Co-chair of the evening was Bob Hyra, Director North America Agriculture Mid-West.

Both expressed congratulations to the Growers, along with other McCain management Dean Melnic, Plant Manager, Portage la Prairie, Dave Giroux, Plant Manager, Carberry, Lisa Foster, Production Manager, Portage la Prairie and Dale Collingridge, Production Manager, Carberry.

Mark Keller, Vice-President, Keystone Potato Producers Association was also in attendance and thanked the Growers and McCain for their support.

Swansfleet Alliance was thrilled when announced as the Top Grower. They started in the seed business and only began contracting potatoes with McCain four years ago. They have been in the Top 10 for the past three years and achieved the Top Grower award this year.

Bob Hyra, Director North America Agriculture Mid-West:

“It’s an impressive achievement.”

“Being in the Top 10 category for every eligible year is remarkable, and I applaud Swansfleet for their hard work and dedication.”
In addition to being awarded a keepsake trophy, a revolving trophy and a cheque for $1,000, they will also receive an all-expense-paid trip to a destination of choice for their achievement.

Potatoes are rated throughout the year on a variety of factors including size, gravity, defect level and colour and awarded points accordingly.

At the end of each crop year, the Top 10 Growers are determined based on their overall scores.

(Click to enlarge)

The Top 10 Growers gather with McCain Management (Click picture for names).

The other growers who qualified for the Top 10 roster, in order of final standing, were:

  • Shilo Farms (Mark Keller – Shilo)
  • Millshof (Paul Wollman and Joseph Wollman Glenboro)
  • Spud Plains Farms (Paul and Kim Adriaansen – Wellwood)
  • Bailey Farms (Terry and Lori Bailey – Carberry)
  • Corduroy Plains (John and Sandra Goff – Carman)
  • Acadia Colony Farms (Isaiah and John Hofer – Carberry)
  • A&M Farm Ventures (Tom and Lisa Adriaansen, John and Shawna Adriaansen – Carberry)
  • Davison Farms (Rick and Jackie Davison, Brad and Gill Davison – Carberry)
  • J.P Wiebe (Sheldon and Jennifer Wiebe – MacGregor)
Each received a $1,000 cheque and a plaque for their accomplishments.