P.E.I. Potato Board elects new executive team

The Prince Edward Island Potato Board recently elected a new executive team

Last month, The Prince Edward Island Potato Board elected a new executive team.

Wayne Townshend has been named chairman. Townshend has been on the board for five years serving as a seed director. He farms with his family in Fortune Bridge, where they grow seed and table potatoes.

The new vice-chairman is John Visser of Crapaud, who co-owns and operates Victoria Potato Farm Inc.

John Griffin, of W.P. Griffin Inc., of Elmsdale is the new secretary-treasurer.

The board also welcomed three new directors, including Mary Gillis of MacLean Farms Ltd., Rob Green of Green Field Farms Ltd., and the new young farmer representative is Michael Ramsay.

The remaining directors include Mark MacMillan, Billy Cameron, Jason Hayden, Chad Robertson, Becky Townshend, Donald Stavert, and Craig Wallace.

The board also recognized the efforts of retiring board members John Hogg, Glenn Rayner, and Kyle Maynar...This article is for members only.