Advanced Search
WPVGA Officer Elections

From left to right: Dan Kakes, Charlie Mattek, Bill Guenthner, Rod Gumz, John Bustamante, Alex Okray, Wes Meddaugh and Mike Carter (Courtesy: WPVGA)

February 15, 2021
Guenthner Elected WPVGA Board President for 2021

At a brief meeting held immediately following the Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association (WPVGA) Annual Meeting, February 4, the WPVGA Board of Directors elected Bill Guenthner of Guenthner Farms Inc., Antigo, as its President for 2021.

Guenthner (District 1) succeeds Rod Gumz of Gumz Muck Farms, Endeavor, who served as Board President in 2020. Alex Okray of Okray Family Farms, Plover (District 2), was elected Vice President; Wes Meddaugh of Heartland Farms Inc., Hancock (District 3) was elected Secretary; and Mike Carter of Bushmans’ Inc., Rosholt (District 2), was elected Treasurer.

In addition to the four board officers, the rest of the WPVGA Board of Directors includes: John Bustamante of Wysocki Family of Companies, Bancroft (District 2); Wendy Dykstra of Alsum Farms & Produce, Friesland (District 3); Randy Fleishauer of Plover River Farms, Stevens Point (District At-Large); Charlie Mattek of J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook (District 1); and J.D. Schroeder of Schroeder Bros. Farms, Inc., Antigo (District 1).

From left to right: Paul Cieslewicz, Rich Wilcox, Sally Suprise, Justin Yach, Kenton Mehlberg, Julie Cartwright and Chris Brooks.

WPVGA Associate Division Board Elects Chris Brooks President for 2021

The WPVGA Associate Division Board of Directors elected Chris Brooks of Central Door Solutions, Plover, to be its President for 2021.

Julie Cartwright of Jay-Mar, Inc., Plover, was elected Vice President of the Board. The rest of the directors for 2021 include: Paul Salm of BMO Harris Bank, Altoona; Matt Selenske from Allied Cooperative’s Pest Pros Division, Adams; Sally Suprise (Secretary), Rural Mutual Insurance, Waupaca; Andy Verhasselt of T.I.P., Inc., Custer; Rich Wilcox (Treasurer) of First State Bank, Stevens Point; and Justin Yach of Compass Insurance Services, Stevens Point.

Cartwright was an incumbent Associate Division Board member who was re-elected to the Board for her second term. Salm, Selenske and Verhasselt were elected for their first terms on the Board.

They replace Paul Cieslewicz, Sand County Equipment, who served two terms on the Board, one as Vice President; Kristi Kulas, M3 Insurance, who served one term on the Board; and Kenton Mehlberg, T.I.P. and AgGrow Solutions, who served two terms on the Board, the latest as President.

From left to right: Roy Gallenberg, Jeff Suchon, Matt Mattek, J.D. Schroeder and Jeff Fassbender.

Schroeder Unanimously Elected WSPIA President for 2021

As part of the Wisconsin Seed Potato Improvement Association (WSPIA) Annual Meeting, January 27, at North Star Lanes in Antigo, the WSPIA Board of Directors elected J.D. Schroeder of Schroeder Bros. Farms, Antigo, President for 2021.

Schroeder succeeds Jeff Fassbender of Seidl Farms Inc., Deerbrook, who served as Board President in 2020. Roy Gallenberg of Gallenberg Farms, Inc., Bryant, was elected Vice President; and Charlie Husnick, Baginski Farms, Antigo, was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

In addition to the three board officers, the other two WSPIA Board of Directors are Matt Mattek of J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook, and Jeff Suchon, Bushman’s Riverside Ranch, Inc., Crivitz.
Heat and Control - Leaderboard - 20220920